About Me

Hi! I'm Tanner

I am a Full Stack Software Engineer working at Visa developing web-based platforms for our Observability and Big Data platforms.

My main passion is in web development πŸ’» as well as writing ✍🏼 and teaching πŸ‘¨πŸΌβ€πŸ« about the web.

On my free time, if I am not working, you can find me in the outdoors 🌳 golfing πŸŒπŸΌβ€β™‚οΈ or camping ⛺️

  • πŸ’Ό I am currently working at Visa as a Senior Full Stack Software Engineer in the Data Platform
  • 🌍 I'm based in San Jose, CA
  • πŸ–₯️ See my portfolio at tannerbarcelos.com
  • βœ‰οΈ You can contact me at barcelos.m.tanner@gmail.com
  • 🧠 I'm learning Kubernetes, Distributed Tracing and Svelte(kit)
  • 🀝 I'm open to collaborating on building web platforms

Skills

  • TypeScript
  • NodeJS
  • Python
  • React
  • Svelte(kit)
  • NextJS
  • Tailwind
  • Vite
  • Redux
  • Express
  • MongoDB
  • Postgres
  • Prisma
  • OpenTelemetry

My Goals

My main goal is growing this blog and staying ultra-consistent on producing high quality content for readers around the world. I am also currently in the planning phase of starting my YouTube channel. I believe expanding my skills and interests to others with an online presence is a key factor in growth as a Software Engineer, and I want to give back to others in the process

As a notice to every reader, my blog will be focused on bringing you content in 7 minutes or less. Attention spans are low nowadays - I want to make it easy for learners to absorb bite sized content when they need it. I am not a text book writer and this blog will not be a textbook library.

I do hope you enjoy the value that my blog might bring you!

What I'll be Posting

As of now I have a dedicated schedule on Web Development topics, TypeScript, Svelte(kit) and Kubernetes. I am not only focused on delivering content on these 3 technologies.

I enjoy many other tools and technologies and I will write about them all as well.

You can expect content on topics such as databases, containerization, source control, DevOps and much, much more. The only difference is this content will not have a set post schedule.

Post Schedule

TopicDay
Web DevEvery Monday
TypeScriptEvery Tuesday
SvelteEvery Saturday
KubernetesEvery Thursday